Business was booming at The Hull Brewing Company until the onset of Prohibition in 1920. From 1920 to 1933, while most local breweries shut down, The Hull Brewing Company remained profitable largely by manufacturing ice and non-alcoholic malt beverages. Shortly after the repeal of Prohibition in 1933, The Hull Brewing Company moved its operations to the old Fresenius Brewery, located at 820 Congress Avenue, where it remained until 1977. Shortly after the move to Congress Avenue the brewery began canning beer, a relatively new technology at this point in time. The use of cans helped to reduce distribution costs since cans weighed much less than bottles. The original Hull’s cans, which prominently displayed Hull’s iconic scripted font, were silver, blue and red, and were used to distribute “Hull’s Cream Ale” and “Hull’s Lager Beer”. Hull’s also continued to distribute their beer in bottles during this time as well.